Theoretical Definition of Love
8:21 a.m. & Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2004

And for another pensive theory. Love. Oh yes my fellow diarylanders, we are going to venture into the tabooed thoughts of love. Stay with me okay? My radical thinking has never needed anymore support.

My whole theoretical outlook on love, [ even though I myself am not currently in it. ] Goes as follows.

Love is something that we have no control over. I've seen both the good side of love.. and the bad side of love. It has both the power to heal and destroy. We are at the mercy of love every waking moment. We are loved from the moment we enter this world. Step out of your box and look at this with me for a moment. Love is love. There shouldn't be different kinds or types of love. We as a people define it that way already. " Oh no, I don't love her like that.. " Then how do you love her? Love is something so strong, so powerfule that it holds the power to the most divine emotions within us. With love we are able to smile, to laugh, to cry, to scream, to get angry, to sigh, to be depressed. What single thing holds such reign of power over so many emotions. Can you think of something? No.. you cannot. Because we only truly hate those we've loved before. Regardless of what kind of love it is. You love your purse, your car, your computer, your phone, your friends laugh, your boyfriend, your mother, your house, your best sixth grade memory, your second grade teacher. When we are small, we are taught to love everything and embrace it. And love seems like a very trivial thing to discuss when you are a child. We love because we feel love around us. Or normally anyway. We have no mind to stop loving someone, it's unethical and a waste of time to a child's eyes. What made us lose this such straight forward sense of positive direction? Growing up and witnessing our parent's torn apart marriages, feuding going on in the situations around us, and suddenly.. before we know it.. you hit that age when suddenly you've had your first fight with a friend. You don't get alone with your sister. We've now learned to reject love as well as accept and give it back. Perhaps this mix is needed for better judgement.. perhaps not. Everyone makes such a big deal out of love. " Oh it's an emotion you should never say unless your serious about it. " Stop taking the word out of context. The word is spelled only one way l o v e.. don't give it another definition. " I love this movie. " This love should be no different then the love that you show other people. Why do we harp that this word holds two defitions? Can our love for possessions and qualities of the people we know not apply in the same way for a relationship with someone? I am a sucker for romance, smiling wide and enjoying those around me in love. I've helped various people love each other.. and various people hate each other. It's the way this world works. But don't you think that perhaps if we didn't take love so seriously, relationships could be held stronger? Holding a double definition scares some people into thinking that love is something that is just too powerful for them to get involved in. It's all in our heads guys, it really is. Love is love. I love my computer, I love my dog, I love my crush. Love and be loved. Don't try to sever the word into a million tiny different pieces. Be accepting of all that love tells you to be accepting of. Does that make sense?.. I hope I'm not the only one trying to tango here, anyone need a tango partner?

Courtney

remember when?
lover you don't have to love - Sunday, Jul. 06, 2014
- - Thursday, Dec. 22, 2005
Catch up? - Tuesday, Sept. 20, 2005
nothing - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
missing dland - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2005

rewind & forward